The Barry Marshall Series

Game Piece

Book 1

Alan’s novel, Game Piece, is a multi-point-of-view adult mystery told from the points of view of Barry Marshall, his wife, Adrian (a boy who is integral to the investigation), and the killer. Detective Barry Marshall is about to lose everything he holds dear—his wife, his career, and his reputation. A mysterious phone call leading him to the dead bodies of a young couple kicks off the ultimate endgame. Unbeknownst to Marshall, the killer had dated his wife years ago. Seeing Marshall with her, the killer is pushed over the edge. He wants to punish Marshall for stealing his beloved by playing a cat-and-mouse game of murder. When the body count rises, Marshall is looking at the possibility of facing his worst nightmare.

A gripping psychological, edge-of-your-seat thriller that goes beyond murder and mayhem.
Midwest Book Review
One of the year’s best thrillers.

Hidden Intentions

Book 2

The line between good and evil is razor thin.

A teenage girl sneaks into an old abandoned house on a dare, but her mission quickly goes sideways. Bound and whisked away, a terrified Cailey relies on her own resourcefulness and extraordinary bravery to find ways to survive. She escapes, but her kidnappers are close on her heels. That’s when she has to decide what she must do in order to stay alive.

Her parents experience their own torments. To satisfy the kidnapper’s demands, her father is forced to make an impossible choice. His daughter’s life or that of another. He has seven days to do it. Realizing time is running out, Cailey’s mother decides that the only way to save her daughter is to risk it all.

An arresting, intelligently crafted drama… darkly atmospheric and deeply unsettling.
Kirkus Reviews